June 5, 2016
Comments Off on Hit and Run Penalty – Sentencing, Penal Codes, Felony or Misdemeanor
Hit and Run First Offense Or Multiple Offense – Hit and Run Penalty Is Severe
Hit and run penalty is a severe in CA where drivers at fault panic and flee from the scene immediately. Some may surrender themselves after being recomposed in mind and body but many tend to hide in their guilt and fear for life.
California Penal Code on Hit and Runs
Hit-and- run offenses occur when the accident involves human lives and heavy property expenses that the driver-at- fault might be incurred. DUI offenders are common guilty parties to hit-and- run cases to avoid another serious charge by the law.
Vehicle Code 2001 and Vehicle Code 2002 are the two common laws on vehicle accidents in California. The former involves injury or death while the latter involves damage to property only. Both statutes insist on the accident-involved drivers to provide their name and current address to one another before making a police report on the incident. The code lists hit-and- run incidents involving injury and deaths are punishable if convicted with:
fines between $1000 and $10,000
imprisonment for a maximum of 4 years
Hit-and- run incidents which cause damage to property alone is punishable with:
maximum fine of $1000
Maximum 6 months county jail time
California Hit and Run Charges – Misdemeanor or Felony
In California, hit-and- run offenders could be charged heavily even if the driver is not at fault
as it is a crime to flee the accident scene without providing the necessary contact
information to the other involved drivers or parties.
Vehicle Code 20001 applies for any injury incurred even for own car passengers. Hit-and- run
drivers could be justified for leaving the accident scene if emergency medical attention is
required for self or passenger.
Vehicle Code 20002 applies to accidents with property damage which may not necessarily
be vehicles involved in the accident.
Hit-and- run offenses are not limited to accidents occurred on the highways and public roads
alone; parking lot collisions are also subject to the heavy consequences if the driver failed to
leave their contact information to the other party.
Hit and Run Sentences
A Hit-and- Run offender could resolve a misdemeanor charge via a civil compromise. This would activate Penal Code 1377 for certain misdemeanor offenses that allow a resolution of a hit-and-run accident via a civil settlement instead of criminal punishment if all involved drivers agree. Otherwise, convicted offenders of hit-and- run offenses could be subject to harsh punishments by the law such as:
Revocation of license
The penalties for a hit-and-run felony in California include:
Heavy fines between $5,000 and $20,000
incarceration of maximum 15 years
Get Free Consultation from A Criminal Defense Lawyer
If you are charged or accused of a hit-and- run offense, it is best that you contact an
experienced California criminal defense attorney in San Diego who could advise on the best course of action in the
eyes of the law.